About the Westchester REMSCO


Bordered by New York City and the Long Island Sound to the south, the Hudson River to the west, Putnam County (Hudson Valley Region) to the north, and Fairfield County (Connecticut) to the east, the region covers an area of 450 square miles and almost one million residents.
A combination of volunteer and career providers, not-for-profit, commercial and municipal based organizations, EMS operations in the Westchester Region are comprised of forty-three (43) certified ambulance services, three (3) ALS First Response agencies, and over thirty (30) BLS First Response agencies.

The Regional EMS Council and its Program Agency, the Westchester County Department of Emergency Services, are responsible for overseeing and coordinating EMS operations as per New York State Public Health Law in the County of Westchester.

In October 2000, the New York State Public Health Law (NYSPHL), Article 30, was amended to allow the creation of the 18th, and last, Regional EMS Council. The Westchester Regional EMS Council was formed by the Commissioner of Health in 2001 and its members first met in June of that year.


The outline of the make-up, authorities and responsibilities of the Council is provided for in Article 30 of the NYSPHL. By statute, the Council must reflect the constituencies that participate in the Regional EMS System, and at minimum have 1/3 representation by EMS agencies. Council members must reside in the region.


  • Communications
  • Finance
  • Nominating
  • Operations
  • Policy & Procedures
  • Public Information, Education & Recognition
  • Systems
  • Training & Education

Program Agency:

In accordance with NYSPHL Article 30, the Council has designated the Westchester County Department of Emergency Services as its Program Agency.

Westchester County Department of Emergency Services
4 Dana Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
 (914) 231-1616 (phone)
(914) 813-4161 (fax)